LINKS
Music
 | Alternative HousingPoetry | Local Action | Arts | Health & Environment | Learning Young People | Boroughs
Media & Political Action
|
Community Centres | History | Advice | Private Homepages #
Music - General

Gluerooms: Experimental sounds (monthly night in New Cross): www.gluerooms.com
Bubblegum:
Members Club in Deptford (DJs, Poetry...): www.bubblegum46.co.uk
Speakers Corner Live
: Homegrown underground MCs and Lyricists: www.speakerscornerlive.com
Sickhappyidle: info about local bands, archivist of the LOST CLUB and more: www.sickhappyidle.com
"I love New Cross" (CD - totally local!): www.newcrossmusic.com
Cozzie:
local music site (bands, news, links and more...): www.cozzie.supanet.com
Rocklands: page for local bands from SE London, with many links, forum etc.: www.welcome.to/rocklands
Wireless FM
: Independent internet radio broadcasting from St Agnes (Kennington): www.wirelessfm.net
Wired FM:Goldsmiths' students radio: www.wired.gold.ac.uk
Criminal Records:
Local label launched in 2004: www.criminalrecords.cc
Real Recordings: New Cross underground label of "Known": www.realrecordings.com
Greenwich Web Radio: www.greenwich-longitude.co.uk
Angular Records:
(New Cross label) www.angularrecords.co.uk


Music - Artists (in alphabetical order)

Anna Vincent: www.lunarpark.co.uk
Art Brut:
www.artbrut.nikkidido.com
Colonel Mustard:
www.colonelmustard.cjb.net
DJ Kleenex: djkleenex.co.uk
Electricity Comes From Other Planets:
www.ecfop.com
Evi Vine: www.evivine.com
Known:
www.kn0wn.com
Oggie: www.oggiestyle.co.uk
Realtime Thrill:
www.realtimethrill.com
Redroute:
www.redroutemusic.com
Sergeant Buzfuz
www.sergeantbuzfuz.com
Severe Reprisal: www.severereprisal.com
Strange Chocolate:
http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/strangechocolate
The Beale:
www.sickhappyidle.com/page5.html
The Crowd: www.thecrowdonline.co.uk
The Dirty Feel:
www.thedirtyfeel.com
The Dirty Pins: www.sickhappyidle.com/thedirtypins/thedirtypins.html
The Drezone: www.thedrezone.com
The Dominoes:
www.thedominoes.com
The Gemma Ray Ritual: www.gemmaray.co.uk
The Kut!
three local girls in one unbelievable band: www.thekut.co.uk
The Metroriots: www.metroriots.com
The Moon: www.moonrock150m.com
The Noisettes:
www.thenoisettes.com
The Stabilisers: www.thestabilisers.com
The Sly Ones: www.slyones.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk
The Teenbeat: www.sickhappyidle.com/page3.html
The Venus Pollution Project: www.sickhappyidle.com/thevenuspollutionproject/thevenuspollutionproject.html
The Violets: www.theviolets.co.uk
Twisted Charm: www.twistedcharm.co.uk
UM: www.umbusiness.co.uk
We Yes You No: www.weyesyouno.com
Yo Zushi: www.yozushi.net
ZEN
: www.zenuk.com
100 Bullets Back: www.100bulletsback.co.uk

Co-ops/ Alternative Housing

Sanford Housing Co-op: New Cross: info & application procedure: www.sanford.i12.com
Rokeby Community Housing Co-op: Brockley; info & application procedure: www.rokeby.coop
Boundless: Broadband Coop for the Deptford Area: www.boundless.coop
Open Coop:
creating a virtual social cyberspace: www.open.coop
Alternative Housing Conference 2004
: 11 September 2004 in Clays Lane: www.althousing.net/ahc04
St Agnes Street in Kennington - autonomous space for 30 years: www.stagnesplace.net
Advisory Service for Squatters (ASS): loads of info and advice about squatting: www.squatter.org.uk
Empty Homes: Loads of info about empty properties: http://www.emptyhomes.com

Radical Routes:
network of radical co-ops
: information, contacts, publications... www.radicalroutes.org.uk
Rootstock:
info & financial support for member co-operatives since 1991:www.rootstock.org.uk
Upstart: provides information about setting up Housing Co-operatives: www.upstart.coop
Catalyst Collective: Support for setting up and registering new Co-ops: www.catalystcollective.co.uk
Confederation of Co-operative Housing (CCH): UK wide organisation for housing co-operatives http://cch.coop
Open Capital: Alternative ways to finance community projects: www.opencapital.net


Local Action & Media

Deptford TV - documenting the regeneration of the local area: www.deptford.tv
Brockley Market Campaign
: campaign to set up a street market in Brockley: Brockley Market Campaign
LETS -
Local exchange Trading Scheme: www.letslinkuk.net
Save Deptford Park
from being partly used for housing www.deptfordpark.com
Olan Trust:
promoting ecologisand more: www.olan.org
Wireless FM:
Independent internet radio broadcasting from St Agnes (Kennington): www.wirelessfm.net
Indymedia
: Independent and autonomous news network: www.indymedia.org.uk
56a: 100% DIY-run space in SE 17 - resource for local people, campaign groups and projects: www.56a.org.uk
Resonance 104.4fm: London's first radio art station: www.resonancefm.com
Wombles: Reports and political action and more from the white overall movement: www.wombles.org.uk
Schnews: News and political action off the mainstream: www.schnews.org.uk/index.html
Newsshopper: local news for Greenwich and Lewisham: www.newsshopper.co.uk/news/lewgreennews
Sick Happy Idle - Zine: www.sickhappyidle.com/shizine/shizine.html
Needle & Thread: Local website - sharing info on local resources: www.needleandthread.org
freshfilmslondon: Film site Cafe Crema: www.freshfilmslondon.com
The Invited Cinema: www.ticfilm.net

Poetry

Richard Russell: http://www.creativityeast.com/richardrussell/index.htm
Spinmaster Plantpot
, the screaming highway poet www.spinmasterplantpot.netfirms.com

Arts
Lewisham Arthouse: based in Lewisham Way: www.arthouse.dircon.co.uk
Creekside Artsist: Arts co-operative in Brockley: www.creeksideartists.co.uk
Arofish:
Contemporary stencil graffiti in Baghdad, New Cross & Palestine: www.arofish.org.uk
Area 10:
independent unfunded artist-led initiative behind Peckham library: www.area10.info
Prangsta: Mel's shop of fancifull dresses in New Cross Road: www.prangsta.co.uk
Laban Centre: one of the first adresses for the art of dancing in Europe: www.laban.org
Cyclicart:
Gosha Valentine's unique clothe shop in New Cross Road: www.cyclicart.org
Creative Lewisham
: arts & creative projects, events and more...www.creativelewisham.org
Netvoodoo: Webdesign with community aspiration: www.netvoodoo.co.uk
The Reel fakers (dave's super 8 projections): www.sickhappyidle.com/page6.html

Health & Environment

London Cycling Campaign: advocate of cyclists in London. Get a free bicycle map of your local area for free!: www.lcc.org.uk
Greenwichcyclists: bicycle website for Greenwich: www.greenwichcyclists.org.uk
Pogo Cafe in London; nice page with a respectable compilation of links about veganism: www.pogocafe.org.uk

Learning

Goldsmith College, New Cross: www.goldsmiths.ac.uk
Goldsmith College Student's Union, New Cross: www.gcsu.org.uk
Lewisham College
, New Cross: www.lewisham.ac.uk

Young People

Young Mayor of Lewisham: Emanuel Hawks (15): www.youngmayor4lewisham.co.uk
B-inspired: local website for under 19's: www.b-inspired.info

Boroughs

Borough of Lewisham: www.lewisham.gov.uk
Borough of Greenwich: www.greenwich.gov.uk
Borough of Southwark: www.southwark.gov.uk

 

Community Centres

Use Your Loaf: social centre in Deptford (evicted in 2004): www.squat.freeserve.co.uk/useyourloaf.html
Social Centre Network:
network of autonomous spaces to share info and resources: www.londonarc.org/social_centre_network
The Albany in Deptford: charity, provides venue, workshops, courses and more...: www.thealbany.org.uk:

History

South East London Folklore Society: paganism, fortean, folklore, high-strangeness and the occult: www.selfs.co.uk

Advice/Funding

Citicen Advice Bureau: Huge variety of advice of all sorts...: www.nacab.org.uk
Homeless London: advice for homeless people, broken down to local organisations: www.homelesslondon.org.uk
Volunteering Lewisham: platform for local volunteers: www.volunteeringlewisham.org.uk

New Cross Gate NDC: £45 m of funding until 2011: www.newcrossgatendc.org.uk

Private Homepages

Ian's juggling site
: www.thatjuggler.com
Stillben:
nice page with loads of photographs from various events - well worth to visit: www.stillben.co.uk
Chris' Yoga site: recommended; pictures of yoga retreats in Marocco: www.hatha.co.uk